Letters in English

Capital letters and small letters are the representation of a language in symbolic form.

This set of letters is called the alphabet.

The modern English alphabet is Latin. It consists of 26 letters.

These letters can be written in the capital and small letters.

We shall see both of those, one by one.

Capital Letters

First, we shall see how we can write capital letters.

Have a look-

A, B, C, D, E, F, G,

H, I, J, K,

L, M, N, O, P,

Q, R, S, T,

U, V, W, X, Y, and Z

Small Letters

We can write these in small letters also.

Have a look-

a, b, c, d, e, f, g,

h, i, j, k,

l, m, n, o, p,

q, r, s, t,

u, v, w, x, y, and z.

Corresponding letters

These 26 capitals and their corresponding small letters are as;

1.A = a

2. B = b

3. C = c

4. D = d

5. E = e

6. F = f

7. G = g

8. H = h

9. I = i

10. J = j

11. K = k

12. L = l

13. M = m

14. N = n

15. O = o

16. P = p

17. Q = q

18. R = r

19. S = s

20. T = t

21. U = u

22. V = v

23. W = w

24. X = x

25. Y = y

26. Z = z

Twenty-seventh letter in the English alphabet

There was a 27th letter in the English alphabet till two hundred years ago. We use this 27th letter always in our writing. It is common in use, but we don’t consider it an English letter. We use it as an abbreviation of the word ‘and’. That is the ampersand (&).

From letters to Grammar Index   

Hi, I am Madhuri Kherde, an educationist and founder of TheBestUknow.com. I like teaching as well as blogging. I hope you may like my posts on this website.