Parts of Speech

Parts of Speech is a division of words. When we write or speak, we use words to express something by making sentences with sense. In English language there are so many words. We use those to make sentence of sense. According to work of words used in sentence, are divided into eight parts, are called Parts of speech.

Eight Parts of Speech

Parts of Speech- a Division of Words
Parts of Speech

Those are- 

  1. Noun 
  2. Pronoun 
  3. Adjective 
  4. Verb
  5. Adverb 
  6. Preposition 
  7. Conjunction 
  8. Interjection


In English language, there are so many words but they all don’t do the same job. Every word does its special job in the sentence. You will get the proper information about these listed here.

Here are the eight speech parts with their work –

  • Noun    –      name of thing or person  
  • Pronoun  –     word used instead of noun
  • Adjective   –    gives more information about noun
  • Verb     –      action word
  • Adverb   –    gives more information about verb, adjective or adverb
  • Preposition  – shows relation to noun
  • Conjunction  –   joins words, clauses or sentences
  • Interjection  –   word for short exclamation, sometimes inserted into a sentence

You will get more information about these terms by clicking the links given above which are the links of speech parts .